2010 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards Shortlists

The 2010 PM’s Literary Awards Fiction, Non-Fiction, Young Adult Fiction and Children’s fiction shortlists have been announced last week.


Summertime by J M Coetzee

The book of emmett by Deborah Forster

The lakewoman by Alan Gould

Dog boy by Eva Hornung

Ransom by David Malouf

Lovesong by Alex Miller

As the earth turns silver by Alison Wong

Non Fiction

The water dreamers: the remarkable history of our dry continent by Michael Cathcart

Strange places: a memoir of mental illness by Will Elliott

The Colony: a history of early Sydney by Grace Karskens

The life and death of democracy by John Keane

The blue plateau: a landscape memoir by Mark Tredinnick

The ghost at the wedding by Shirley Walker

Young Adult Fiction

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

The winds of heaven by Judith Clarke

Confessions of a liar, ehief and failed sex god by Bill Condon

The museum of Mary Child by Cassandra Golds

Swerve by Phillip Gwynne

Jarvis 24 by David Metzenthen

Beatle meets Destiny by Gabrielle Williams

Children’s Fiction

Cicada summer by Kate Constable

The terrible plop by Ursula Dubosarsky and illustrator Andrew Joyner

Just Macbeth by Andy Griffiths and illustrator Terry Denton

Mr Chicken goes to Paris by Leigh Hobbs

Running with the horses by Alison Lester

Star jumps by Lorraine Marwood

Mannie and the long brave day by Martine Murray and illustrator Sally Rippin

Tensy Farlow and the home for Mislaid children by Jen Storer

Harry and Hopper by Margaret Wild and illustrator Freya Blackwood