2012 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards & History Awards Winners

All the awards winners have been announced and they are:

2012 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards: Winners

The Christina Stead Prize ($40,000):

Kim Scott, That Deadman Dance (Pan Macmillan Australia)

The UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5,000):

Rohan Wilson, The Roving Party (Allen & Unwin)

The Douglas Stewart Prize ($40,000):

Mark McKenna, An Eye for Eternity: The Life of Manning Clark (Miegunyah, MUP)

The Kenneth Slessor Prize ($30,000):

Gig Ryan, New and Selected Poems (Giramondo Publishing)

The Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($30,000):

Kate Constable, Crow Country (Allen & Unwin)

The Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature ($30,000):

Penni Russon, Only Ever Always (Allen & Unwin)

Nick Enright Prize, formerly the Play Award ($30,000): Joint winners

Vanessa Bates, Porn.Cake. (Malthouse Theatre)

Joanna Murray-Smith, The Gift (Melbourne Theatre Company, Currency Press)

The Betty Roland Prize, formerly The Scriptwriting Award ($30,000):

Peter Duncan, Rake (Episode 1): R v Murray (ABC TV)

The Community Relations Commission for a multicultural NSW Award ($20,000):

Tim Bonyhady, Good Living Street: The Fortunes of My Viennese Family (Allen & Unwin)

People’s Choice Award

Gail Jones, Five Bells (Random House Australia)

Book of the Year ($10,000)

Kim Scott, That Deadman Dance (Pan Macmillan Australia)

Special Award

Clive James CBE, AM ($10,000)

Under exceptional circumstances, the judges may propose that a Special Award be made, either for an Australian literary work that is not readily covered by existing Awards categories or in recognition of an Australian writer’s achievements generally.

2012 NSW Premier’s History Awards: Winners

Australian History Prize ($15,000):

Russell McGregor, Indifferent Inclusion: Aboriginal People and the Australian Nation (Aboriginal Studies Press)

General History Prize ($15,000):

Tim Bonyhady, Good Living Street: The Fortunes of My Viennese Family (Allen & Unwin)

New South Wales Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000):

Deborah Beck, Set in Stone: A History of the Cell Block Theatre (UNSW Press)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000):

Stephanie Owen Reeder, Amazing Grace: An Adventure at Sea (National Library of Australia)

Multimedia History Prize ($15,000):

Catherine Freyne and Phillip Ulman, Tit for Tat: The Story of Sandra Willson (Hindsight, ABC Radio National)