CAL Waverley Library Award for Literature – shortlist and winner

This year, CAL Waverley Library Award for Litertuare goes to Robert Gray for his memoir ‘The land I came through last’.

Gray is an Australian poet. The judget highly praised this book

Robert Gray set out to write a book about his family entirely from memory, but found, as we all do, that it is “impossible to be accurate about another’s past or even one’s own”. Thus he was driven to taken him more years than anyone expected to complete one of the most research the family background that led to his own experiences, and it has beautifully written works of autobiography ever to appear in this country. memorable characters who take a less central role in the story, among them.

Shortlisted titles also include

Tom Wills by Greg de Moore 

The accidental guerrilla  by David Kilcullen

Shattered Anzac  by Marina Larsson 

Tour to hell by David Levell 

Art of Australia by John McDonald