NSW Premier’s Literacy & History Awards Shortlists 2012

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards and the Premier’s History Awards are an important and integral part of the State’s cultural activity.

Christina Stead Prize ($40,000)

Anna Funder, All That I Am (Penguin Group Australia)

Kate Grenville, Sarah Thornhill (Text Publishing Company)

Gail Jones, Five Bells (Random House Australia)

Malcolm Knox, The Life (Allen & Unwin)

Kim Scott, That Deadman Dance (Pan Macmillan Australia)

Rohan Wilson, The Roving Party (Allen & Unwin)

People’s Choice Award

The 2012 winner will be chosen by the people from among the shortlist of the Christina Stead Prize.

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5,000)

Peggy Frew, House of Sticks (Scribe Publications)

Anna Funder, All That I Am (Penguin Group (Australia))

Favel Parrett, Past the Shallows (Hachette Australia)

Edwina Shaw, Thrill Seekers (Ransom Publishing)

Craig Sherborne, Amateur Science of Love (Text Publishing Company)                

Rohan Wilson, The Roving Party (Allen & Unwin)

Douglas Stewart Prize ($40,000)

Delia Falconer, Sydney (NewSouth Publishing)

Paul Kelly, How to Make Gravy (Penguin Group (Australia))

Simon Leys, The Hall of Uselessness: Collected Essays (Black Inc)

Mark McKenna, An Eye for Eternity: The Life of Manning Clark (Miengunyah)

Alice Pung, Her Father’s Daughter (Black Inc)

Martin Thomas, The Many Worlds of RH Mathews: In Search of an Australian Anthropologist (Allen & Unwin)

Kenneth Slessor Prize ($30,000)

Ken Bolton, Sly Mongoose (Puncher and Wattman)

Susan Hawthorne, Cow (Spinifex Press)

John Mateer, Southern Barbarians (Giramondo Publishing)

Claire Potter, Swallow (Five Islands Press)

Gig Ryan, New and Selected Poems (Giramondo Publishing)

Tracy Ryan, The Argument (Fremantle Press)

Patricia Wrightson Prize ($30,000)

Kate Constable, Crow Country (Allen & Unwin)

Rosanne Hawke, Taj and the Great Camel Trek (University of Queensland Press)

Glenda Millard, illustrated by Rebecca Cool, For All Creatures (Walker Books)

Jan Ormerod, illustrated by Freya Blackwood, Maudie and Bear (Little Hare, Hardie Grant Egmont)

Sally Rippin, Angel Creek (Text Publishing Company)

Emily Rodda, illustrated by Craig Smith, Bungawitta (Omnibus Books)

Ethel Turner Prize ($30,000)

Bill Condon, A Straight Line to My Heart (Allen & Unwin)

Ursula Dubosarsky, The Golden Day (Allen & Unwin)

Kelly Gardiner, Act of Faith (HarperCollins Publishers Australia)

Scot Gardner, The Dead I Know (Allen & Unwin)

Penni Russon, Only Ever Always (Allen & Unwin)

Vikki Wakefield, All I Ever Wanted (Text Publishing Company)

Play Award ($30,000)

Vanessa Bates, Porn.Cake. (Malthouse Theatre)

Angela Betzien, War Crimes (Regional Arts Victoria; Currency Press)

Lally Katz, Neighbourhood Watch (Belvoir Theatre Upstairs)

Verity Laughton, The Sweetest Thing (Arts Radar in association with B Sharp)

Joanna Murray-Smith, The Gift (Melbourne Theatre Company; Currency Press)

Lachlan Philpott, Silent Disco (Griffin Theatre with Australian Theatre for Young People (ATYP) and Hothouse Theatre; Currency Press)

Scriptwriting Award ($30,000)

Peter Duncan, Rake (Episode 1): R v Murray (ABC TV)

Shaun Grant, Snowtown (Warp Films & Film Victoria)

Michelle Offen, East West 101: The Price of Salvation (Knapman Wyld Television)

Community Relations Commission for a multicultural NSW Award ($20,000)

Tim Bonyhady, Good Living Street: The Fortunes of My Viennese Family (Allen & Unwin)

Raimond Gaita, After Romulus (Text Publishing Company)

Nadine Helmi and Gerhard Fischer, The Enemy at Home: German Internees in World War I Australia (UNSW Press with Historic Houses Trust)

Alistair Thomson, Moving Stories (UNSW Press)

Arnold Zable, Violin Lessons (Text Publishing Company)

General History Prize ($15,000)

Tim Bonyhady, Good Living Street: The Fortunes of My Viennese Family (Allen & Unwin)

Ian Donaldson, Ben Jonson: A Life (Oxford University Press)

Paul Ham, Hiroshima Nagasaki (HarperCollins Publishers Australia)

New South Wales Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)

Deborah Beck, Set in Stone: A History of the Cell Block Theatre (UNSW Press)

Julia Horne and Geoffrey Sherington, Sydney: The Making of a Public University (Melbourne University Publishing)

Andrew Moore, Mr Big of Bankstown: The Scandalous Fitzpatrick and Brown Affair (UWA Publishing)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

Anh Do and Suzanne Do, illustrated by Bruce Whatley, The Little Refugee (Allen & Unwin)

Stephanie Owen Reeder, Amazing Grace: An Adventure at Sea (National Library of Australia)

Nadia Wheatley, illustrated by Ken Searle, Playground (Allen & Unwin)

Multimedia History Prize ($15,000)

Richard Corfield, Rose Hesp, Wendy Boynton & Andrew Glover, Ernabella: No Ordinary Mission (Compass/ABC TV)

Maree Delofski, Nick Franklin, Mark Gregory & Timothy Nicastry, Isle of Denial: William Cuffay in Van Diemen’s Land (Hindsight/ABC Radio National)

Catherine Freyne & Phillip Ulman, Tit for Tat: The Story of Sandra Willson (Hindsight/ABC Radio National)

For more information you can go to