NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2016 shortlists

The shortlisted titles in each of the categories are listed below.

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction

Ghost River (Tony Birch, UQP)

Locust Girl: A Lovesong (Merlinda Bobis, Spinifex Press)

Clade (James Bradley, Hamish Hamilton)

The Life of Houses (Lisa Gorton, Giramondo)

A Guide to Berlin (Gail Jones, Vintage)

The World without Us (Mireille Juchau, Bloomsbury)

You can participate people’s choice for this category on http://www.sl.nsw.gov.au/about-library-awards-nsw-premiers-literary-awards/christina-stead-prize-fiction-peoples-choice

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing

Fever of Animals (Miles Allinson, Scribe)

An Astronaut’s Life (Sonja Dechian, Text)

Relativity (Antonia Hayes, Viking)

In the Quiet (Eliza Henry-Jones, HarperCollins)

When There’s Nowhere Else to Run (Murray Middleton, A&U)

Hot Little Hands (Abigail Ulman, Hamish Hamilton)

Douglas Stewart Prize for Nonfiction

The Nashos’ War: Australia’s National Servicemen and Vietnam (Mark Dapin, Viking)

One Life: My Mother’s Story (Kate Grenville, Text)

Across the Seas: Australia’s Response to Refugees: A History (Klaus Neumann, Black Inc.)

Reckoning: A Memoir (Magda Szubanski, Text)

Island Home (Tim Winton, Hamish Hamilton)

Small Acts of Disappearance (Fiona Wright, Giramondo)

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry

Brush (Joanne Burns, Giramondo)

Eelahroo (Long Ago) Nyah (Looking) Möbö-Möbö (Future) (Lionel G Fogarty, Vagabond Press)

The Hazards (Sarah Holland-Batt, UQP)

Fainting with Freedom (Ouyang Yu, Five Islands Press)

Terra Bravura (Meredith Wattison, Puncher & Wattmann)

Not Fox Nor Axe (Chloe Wilson, Hunter Publishers)

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature

Tea and Sugar Christmas (Jane Jolly & Robert Ingpen, NLA)

A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)

Molly and Pim and the Millions of Stars (Martine Murray, Text)

The Greatest Gatsby: A Visual Book of Grammar (Tohby Riddle, Viking)

Teacup (Rebecca Young & Matt Ottley, Scholastic)

Flight (Nadia Wheatley & Armin Greder, Windy Hollow Books)

Ethel Turner Prize for Young Adult’s Literature

Battlesaurus: Rampage at Waterloo (Brian Falkner, Pan Macmillan)

Freedom Ride (Sue Lawson, Black Dog Books)

Laurinda (Alice Pung, Black Inc.)

Welcome to Orphancorp (Marlee Jane Ward, Seizure)

The Peony Lantern (Frances Watts, ABC Books)

The Guy, the Girl, the Artist and His Ex (Gabrielle Williams, A&U)

Multicultural NSW Award

Shining: The Story of a Lucky Man (Abdi Aden & Robert Hillman, HarperCollins)

The Other Side of the World (Stephanie Bishop, Hachette)

The Principal, Episode 1 (Kristen Dunphy, Essential Media and Entertainment)

Good Muslim Boy (Osamah Sami, Hardie Grant Books)

We Are Here (Cat Thao Nguyen, A&U)

Vera: My Story (Vera Wasowski & Robert Hillman, Black Inc.)

Indigenous Writer’s Prize

Ghost River (Tony Birch, UQP)

Inside My Mother (Alice Cobby Eckermann, Giramondo)

Dirty Words (Natalie Harkin, Cordite Publishing)

Dark Emu (Bruce Pascoe, Magabala)

Heat and Light (Ellen van Neerven, UQP)

Not Just Black and White (Lesley Williams & Tammy Williams, UQP)

Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting

Boys Will Be Boys (Melissa Bubnic, Sydney Theatre Company)

Broken (Mary Anne Butler, Currency Press)

The Bleeding Tree (Angus Cerini, Currency Press in association with Griffin Theatre Company)

Battle of Waterloo (Kylie Coolwell, Sydney Theatre Company)

Hello, Goodbye & Happy Birthday (Roslyn Oades, Malthouse Theatre)

Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting

Last Cab to Darwin (Reg Cribb & Jeremy Sims, Last Cab Productions)

Deadline Gallipoli, Episode 1 (Jacquelin Perske, Matchbox Pictures)

The Secret River, Part 2 (Jan Sardi & Mac Gudgeon, Ruby Entertainment)

Deadline Gallipoli, Episode 4: ‘The Letter’ (Cate Shortland, Matchbox Pictures)

House of Hancock (Katherine Thomson, Cordell Jigsaw Zapruder)