NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2018 – Shortlists

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards provide an opportunity to highlight the importance of literacy and to encourage everyone to enjoy and learn from the work of our writers. These annual awards honour distinguished achievement by Australian writers, contribute to Australia’s artistic reputation, and draw international attention to some of our best writers and to the cultural environment that nurtures them.

Past winners have included such notable writers as Peter Carey, David Malouf AO, Elizabeth Jolley, Thomas Keneally AO and Helen Garner.

The awards allocate prizes to a range of Australian literature – the shortlists cover: adult fiction; adult non fiction; poetry; young people; children; play writing; script writing; multicultural NSW and Indigenous writers. View the entire NSW Premier’s Literary Awards Shortlists

Vote for the People’s Choice Award – Vote for your favourite book from the 2018 Christina Stead Prize for Fiction Shortlist and go into the draw to win a prize pack of all 6 books. Voting closes midnight Sunday 22 April 2018. Winners announced Monday 30 April 2018. To vote click here.

To reserve your title for the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction Shortlist click on the title:

Common PeopleTony Birch
Seabirds Crying in the Harbour DarkCatherine Cole
Pulse points: storiesJennifer Down
The book of dirtBram Presser
The restorerMichael Sala
TabooKim Scott