Children’s Book Week 2018 – Winners

Book Week is the longest running children’s festival in Australia, and was created in 1945 by the Children’s Book Council of Australia, a not for profit organization that strives to promote the best in Australian literature for kids and teens. The theme for this year was Find your Treasure.

The winners for 2018 are:
Older Readers Book of the Year (ages 13-18) – Take Three Girls by Cath Crowley et al.
Younger Readers Book of the Year (ages 8-12) – How to Bee by Bren MacDibble
Early Childhood Book of the Year (ages 0-7) – Rodney Looses It! by M.G. Bauer
Picture Book of the Year – A Walk in the Bush by Gwyn Perkins
Eve Pownall Book of the Year  – Do Not Lick this Book by I. Ben-Barak

Crichton Award for New Illustrators – Tintinnabula by M. Lanagan, illustrated by R. Cai

See winners and honour books of 2018 here.

All these wonderful books are available from Parramatta City Libraries. Borrow now!

2014 Children’s Book of the Year Awards

cbca logoIt’s time for kids reading!

CBCA has just announced this year’s Children’s Book of the Year Awards.

Early Childhood –

The Swap by Jan Ormerod & Andrew Joyner

Eve Pownall –

Jeremy by Christopher Faille & Danny Snell

Younger Reader –

City of Orphans: a very unusual pursuit by Catherine Jinks

Older Reader – 

Wildlife by Fiona Wood

Picture Book –

Rules of Summer by Shaun Tan