The 2014 BAILEYS Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist


The 2014 longlist for one of the most prestigious literary awards in the world, the BAILEY’S Women’s Prize for Fiction – previously known as the Orange Prize for Fiction – has been announced. The award celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing, and this year’s longlist features six debut writers as well as two previous winners.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood

The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne

The Shadow of the Crescent Moon by Fatima Bhutto

The Bear by Claire Cameron

Eleven Days by Lea Carpenter

The Strangler Vine by M.J. Carter

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

Reasons She Goes to the Woods by Deborah Kay Davies

The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

The Flamethrowers by Rachel Kushner

The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri

The Undertaking by Audrey Magee

A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing by Eimear McBride

Almost English by Charlotte Mendelson

Still Life with Bread Crumbs by Anna Quindlen

The Burgess Boys by Elizabeth Strout

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

All The Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld

The winner will be announced on  June 4 2014.