The Nominees For 2018 Edgar Allan Poe Awards

The 2018 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in 2017 has announced its nominees which represent best works of crime/mystery.





Best Novel

The Dime by Kathleen Kent (Hachette Book Group – Little, Brown & Co./Mulholland Books)

Prussian Blue by Philip Kerr (Penguin Random House — Marian Wood Books/Putnam)

Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke (Hachette Book Group – Little, Brown & Co./Mulholland Books)

A Rising Man by Abir Mukherjee (Pegasus Books)

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti (Penguin Random House — The Dial Press)


Best First Novel

She Rides Shotgun by Jordan Harper (HarperCollins — Ecco)

Dark Chapter by Winnie M. Li (Polis Books)

Lola by Melissa Scrivner Love (Penguin Random House — Crown)

Tornado Weather by Deborah E. Kennedy (Macmillan — Flatiron Books)

Idaho by Emily Ruskovich (Random House)


Best Paperback Original

In Farleigh Field by Rhys Bowen (Amazon Publishing — Lake Union)

Ragged Lake by Ron Corbett (ECW Press)

Black Fall by Andrew Mayne (HarperCollins Publishers — Harper Paperbacks)

The Unseeing by Anna Mazzola (Sourcebooks — Sourcebooks Landmark)

Penance by Kanae Minato (Hachette Book Group — Little, Brown & Co./Mulholland Books)

The Rules of Backyard Cricket by Jock Serong (Text Publishing)


Best Fact Crime

Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI

by David Grann (Penguin Random House — Doubleday)

The Road to Jonestown: Jim Jones and Peoples Temple by Jeff Guinn (Simon & Schuster)

American Fire: Love, Arson, and Life in a Vanishing Land by Monica Hesse

(W.W. Norton & Company — Liveright)

The Man From the Train: The Solving of a Century-Old Serial Killer Mystery

by Bill and Rachel McCarthy James (Simon & Schuster — Scribner)

Mrs. Sherlock Holmes: The True Story of New York City’s Greatest Female Detective and

the 1917 Missing Girl Case that Captivated a Nation by Brad Ricca (St. Martin’s Press)


Best Critical/Biographical

From Holmes to Sherlock: The Story of the Men and Women who Created an Icon

by Mattias Bostrom (Grove/Atlantic — The Mysterious Press)

Manderley Forever: A Biography of Daphne du Maurier by Tatiana de Rosnay (St. Martin’s Press)

Murder in the Closet: Essays on Queer Clues in Crime Fiction Before Stonewall by Curtis Evans (McFarland Publishing)

Chester B. Himes: A Biography by Lawrence P. Jackson (W.W. Norton & Company)

Arthur and Sherlock: Conan Doyle and the Creation of Holmes by Michael Sims (Bloomsbury USA)


Best Short Story

“Spring Break” — New Haven Noir by John Crowley (Akashic Books)

“Hard to Get” — Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine by Jeffery Deaver (Dell Magazines)

“Ace in the Hole” — Montana Noir by Eric Heidle (Akashic Books)

“A Moment of Clarity at the Waffle House” — Atlanta Noir by Kenji Jasper (Akashic Books)

“Chin Yong-Yun Stays at Home” — Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine by S.J. Rozan (Dell Magazines)


Best Juvenile

Audacity Jones Steals the Show by Kirby Larson (Scholastic — Scholastic Press)

Vanished! by James Ponti (Simon & Schuster — Aladdin)

The Assassin’s Curse by Kevin Sands (Simon & Schuster — Aladdin)

First Class Murder by Robin Stevens (Simon & Schuster — Simon & Schuster BFYR)

NewsPrints by Ru Xu (Scholastic — Graphix)


Young Adult

The Cruelty by Scott Bergstrom (Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group — Feiwel & Friends)

Grit by Gillian French (HarperCollins Publishers — HarperTeen)

The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak (Simon & Schuster)

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds (Simon & Schuster — Atheneum Books for Young Readers)

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (HarperCollins Publishers — Balzer + Bray)


TV Episode Teleplay

“Episode 1” — Loch Ness, Teleplay by Stephen Brady (Acorn TV)

“Something Happened” — Law and Order: SVU, Teleplay by Michael Chernuchin

(NBC Universal/Wolf Entertainment)

“Somebody to Love” — Fargo, Teleplay by Noah Hawley (FX Networks/MGM)

“Gently and the New Age” — George Gently, Teleplay by Robert Murphy (Acorn TV)

“The Blanket Mire” — Vera, Teleplay by Paul Matthew Thompson & Martha Hillier (Acorn TV)


Robert L. Fish Memorial

“The Queen of Secrets” — New Haven Noir by Lisa D. Gray (Akashic Books)


Mary Higgins Clark

The Vineyard Victims by Ellen Crosby (Minotaur)

You’ll Never Know Dear by Hallie Ephron (HarperCollins — William Morrow)

The Widow’s House by Carol Goodman (HarperCollins — William Morrow Paperbacks)

Uncorking a Lie by Nadine Nettmann (Llewellyn Worldwide — Midnight Ink)

The Day I Died by Lori Rader-Day (HarperCollins — William Morrow Paperbacks)


Grand Master

Jane Langton

William Link

Peter Lovesey


Raven Award

Kristopher Zgorski, BOLO Books

The Raven Bookstore, Lawrence Kansas


Ellery Queen Award

Robert Pépin