Winners of The 2013 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

12 Prizes winners of the 2013 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have been announced at the State Library of NSW recently. Parramatta City Library has most of books available for loan.

Christina Stead Prize (Fiction, $40,000)

Mateship with Birds by Carrie Tiffany (Pan Macmillan Australia) 

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5,000)

The Last Thread by Michael Sala (Affirm Press) 

Douglas Stewart Prize (Non‐fiction, $40,000)

The Office: A Hardworking History by Gideon Haigh (Melbourne University Publishing)

Kenneth Slessor Prize (Poetry, $30,000)

Ruby Moonlight by Ali Cobby‐Eckermann (Magabala Books) 

Patricia Wrightson Prize (Children’s Literature, $30,000)

The Ghost of Miss Annabel Spoon by Aaron Blabey (Penguin Group Australia)

Ethel Turner Prize (Young People’s Literature, $30,000)

A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty (Pan Macmillan Australia)

Nick Enright Prize (Playwriting, $30,000)

The Damned by Reg Cribb (Black Swan State Theatre Company)

Betty Roland Prize (Scriptwriting, $30,000)

Dead Europe by Louise Fox (See‐saw films)

Community Relations Commission for a multicultural NSW Award ($20,000)

Don’t Go Back to Where You Came From by Tim Soutphommasane (New South Publishing)

NSW Premier’s Translation Prize ($30,000)

Peter Boyle

Book of the Year ($10,000)

Ruby Moonlight by Ali Cobby‐Eckermann (Magabala Books)

People’s Choice

Animal People by Charlotte Wood (Allen & Unwin)

Special Award ($10,000):

David Ireland AM