KOALAs 2018 Winners

The winners of the 2018 Kids Own Australian Literature Awards (KOALAs), the children’s choice book awards for New South Wales, have been announced.

The winners and honour books in each category are:

Picture Book

  • Do Not Open This Book Again! (Andy Lee, illus by Heath McKenzie, Lake Press)

Honour books

  • Chip (Kylie Howarth, Five Mile)
  • Pig the Star (Aaron Blabey, Scholastic)

Fiction for younger readers

  • WeirDo: Really Weird! (Anh Do, illus by Jules Faber, Scholastic)

Honour books

  • The Bad Guys Episode 5: Intergalactic Gas (Aaron Blabey, Scholastic)
  • Ella Diaries: Pony School Showdown (Meredith Costain, illus by Danielle McDonald, Scholastic)

Fiction for older readers

  • The 91-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths, illus by Terry Denton, Pan)

Honour books

  • Aquatica (Lance Balchin, Five Mile)
  • Funny Kid for President (Matt Stanton, ABC Books)

Fiction for years 7-9

  • The Fall (Tristan Bancks, Random House)

Honour books

  • Maybe (Morris Gleitzman, Penguin)
  • The Secrets We Keep (Nova Weetman, UQP).

The Walkley Book Award 2018 shortlist has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • The First Casualty (Peter Greste, Viking)
  • No Front Line: Australia’s Special Forces At War in Afghanistan (Chris Masters, A&U)
  • The House (Helen Pitt, A&U).