2016 Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards honour some of the most outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. There are five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book – with one of the five winners chosen as Book of the Year, announced at an awards ceremony in London every January.

2016 winners are

First Novel Award

Golden Hill by Francis Spufford

Novel Award

Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

Biography Award

Dadland: A Journey into Uncharted Territory by Keggie Carew

Poetry Award

Falling Awake by Alice Oswald

Children’s Book Award

The Bombs That Brought Us Together by Brian Conaghan