2017 NSW Premier’s History Awards Shortlists

The State Library of NSW (SLNSW) has announced the shortlists for the 2017 NSW Premier’s History Awards.






The shortlisted works in each category are:

Australian History Prize 

  • Australia’s War Crimes Trials 1945-51 (Georgina Fitzpatrick, Tim McCormack and Narrelle Morris, Brill Nijhoff)
  • Stroke of Genius: Victor Trumper and the Shot That Changed Cricket (Gideon Haigh, Penguin)
  • From the Edge: Australia’s Lost Histories (Mark McKenna, MUP)

General History Prize

  • Victoria: The Woman Who Made the Modern World (Julia Baird, HarperCollins)
  • The Land is Our History: Indigeneity, Law and the Settler State (Miranda Johnson, OUP)
  • Japanese War Criminals: The Politics of Justice after the Second World War (Sandra Wilson, Robert Cribb, Beatrice Trefalt and Dean Aszkielowicz, Columbia University Press)

NSW Community and Regional History Prize

  • The House That Jack Built: Jack Mundey, Green Bans Hero (James Coleman, NewSouth)
  • Sex Crimes in the Fifties (Lisa Featherstone & Amanda Kaladelfos, MUP)
  • Stories from the Sandstone: Quarantine Inscriptions from Australia’s Immigrant Past (Peter Hobbins, Ursula K Frederick and Anne Clarke, Arbon Publishing)

Young People’s History Prize

  • Desert Lake: The Story of Kati Thanda—Lake Eyre (Pamela Freeman & Liz Anelli, Walker Books)
  • Australia’s Great War: 1917 (Kelly Gardiner, Scholastic)
  • Maralinga’s Long Shadow: Yvonne’s Story (Christobel Mattingley, A&U)

Multimedia History Prize

  • The Amboyna Conspiracy Trial (Adam Clulow, Center for History and New Media, George Mason University)
  • Monsieur Mayonnaise (Trevor Graham, Yarra Bank Films)
  • Ghosts of Biloela (Que Minh Luu & Jesse Cox, Creative Nonfiction)