Book Review Apples Never Fall

Summary

From the outside, the Delaneys appear to be an enviably contented family. Even after all these years, former tennis coaches Joy and Stan are still winning tournaments, and now that they’ve sold the family business they have all the time in the world to learn how to ‘relax’. Their four adult children are busy living their own lives, and while it could be argued they never quite achieved their destinies, no-one ever says that out loud.

But now Joy Delaney has disappeared and her children are re-examining their parents’ marriage and their family history with fresh, frightened eyes. Is her disappearance related to their mysterious house guest from last year? Or were things never as rosy as they seemed in the Delaney household?

Comments

We really enjoyed this book.  The Joy and Stan Delaney are recently retired after running a tennis school for many years, when Joy suddenly goes missing.  Forcing her four children, to face up to whether their father could possibly have anything to do with her disappearance. Liane Moriarty knows to write about families and all their complexities.  We can never really know what goes on when everyone else goes home.  While for the most part we enjoyed the way the story unravelled, flipping from ‘past’ to ‘now’, at times we did get a little confused.  We loved all the little character stories and how they all came together in the end, linking back to the main story.  Definitely a more engaging read than her last novel.  We would definitely recommend this book. 

Rating 7/10 read by Cultcha Club

Book Review The Lost Man

The Lost Man by Jane Harper

Summary

The man lay still in the centre of a dusty grave under a monstrous sky.Two brothers meet at the stockman’s grave, a landmark so old, no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother, Cameron.Something had been troubling him. Did Cameron choose to walk to his death? Because if he didn’t, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects…For readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper has once again created a powerful story of suspense, set against a dazzling landscape.

Comments

A well written and suspenseful mystery. The protagonist, Nathan, is the
eldest of three sons in a family on a vast and isolated cattle station
in far outback Queensland. When the body of the second son, Cameron, is
found near the grave of a stock man, three generations of the
family and three workers are aware that someone knows more than they are
admitting. Was Cameron really the upstanding family man and successful
property manager he seemed to be? The history of this family is slowly revealed as the story progresses. The author captured the sense of isolation as well as the atmosphere of the Australian outback.                                                                                                               We all enjoyed this well-paced story which keeps you guessing until the very end.

Read by Dundas Readers

Book Club Review The Book Ninja

The Book Ninja – Ali Berg & Michelle Kalus

Summary

Frankie Rose is desperate for love. Or a relationship. Or just a date with a semi-normal person will do.It’s not that she hasn’t tried. She’s the queen of online dating. But enough is enough. Inspired by her job at The Little Brunswick Street Bookshop, Frankie decides to take fate into her own hands and embarks on the ultimate love experiment. Her plan? Plant her favourite books on trains inscribed with her contact details in a bid to lure the sophisticated, charming and well-read man of her dreams. Enter Sunny, and one spontaneous kiss later, Frankie begins to fall for him. But there’s just one problem – Frankie is strictly a classics kind of gal, and Sunny is really into Young Adult. Like really. A clever, funny and wryly observed story about books and discovering who you really are.

Comments

The Book Ninja is not a book that we would recommend. Although it began well with some excellent writing it was not maintained throughout the novel. We found the idea of leaving the books on trains interesting, but the story seemed to morph into teen angst with the search for a boyfriend. We found the characters shallow, self absorbed and, at times, ridiculous. We also felt there was a lot of ‘book snobbery’ when discussing young adult novels.

Read by MJ Reader

Book Review A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Summary

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots –  neighbours who can’t reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d’etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents’ Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.But isn’t it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible…

Comments

A Man Called Ove was loved by each member of our book club. At its heart it is an unconventional love story that gradually reveals itself and enfolds you in its beautifully crafted characters. Ove is perceived as a ‘grumpy old man’, routine driven, friendless, mourning the loss of his wife. When a family moves into his community they have an immediate impact on his life and the true, caring Ove emerges. This is a story where one sentence can make you cry and laugh at the same time. It is tragic but hopeful and humourous.

We recommend itMJ Readers