2017 Dagger awards longlists

UK Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) has announced its outstanding longlists – Dagger awards longlists.

Diamond Dagger Winner

 Ann Cleeves is the CWA Diamond Dagger winner. The Dagger award recognises authors whose crime writing careers have been marked by sustained excellence, and who have made a significant contribution to the genre.

Ann Cleeves has written 30 novels and is translated into as many languages.  She holds a remarkable record: she is the only living author to have two major drama series on TV – Vera and Shedland. Continue reading

Arthur C Clarke Award 2017 Shortlist

The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale .

The shortlisted titles are: Continue reading

The museum of modern love – a review

Title: The museum of modern love

Author: Heather Rose

Yan’s pick

I picked up this book initially, it was because the author won the Stella Prize for 2017. Then I couldn’t put the book down after the first ten pages.

It is so beautifully written, in literary terms as well in depth. The book was inspired by Marina Abramovic, the performance artist who made many controversial performances in her life, for example, in 1974 Rhythm 0 she allowed people to use any of 72 projects (including a gun) provided by her to torture her and cut her. She was almost killed by an audience member who was prepared to shoot her. Continue reading

2016 Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards honour some of the most outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. There are five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book – with one of the five winners chosen as Book of the Year, announced at an awards ceremony in London every January.

2016 winners are Continue reading