CWA Daggers 2014

If you have a passion for crime fiction, now this it just for you.

This year CWA has announced its winners for this year’s Daggers. The Diamond Dagger goes to Simon Brett. The CWA Diamond Dagger is selected from nominations provided by CWA members. Nominees have to meet two essential criteria: first, their careers must be marked by sustained excellence, and second, they must have made a significant contribution to crime writing published in the English language, whether originally or in translation.

The Gold Dagger is awarded to the best crime novel of the year. The longlist of this year

gold dagger longlist











Ian Flaming Steel is broadly definited the thriller novel. Those can be set in any period and include, but are not limited to, spy fiction and/or action/ adventure stories. Ian Flaming Steel Dagger longlist is

total ian flaming








The John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger award is for the best crime novel by a first-time author of any nationality first published in the UK in English during the Judging Period. The longlist is









CWA International Dagger award is for crime novels (defined by the broadest definition including thrillers, suspense novels and spy fiction) as long as the book was not originally written in English and has been translated into English for UK publication during the Judging Period.

2014 Winner for this category is The Siege by Arturo Perez-Reverte (t. Frank Wynne) Weidenfeld

From its website it describes this book – “That rare thing, an old-fashioned, proper, big novel: The Siege is as much a thickly described historical fiction as a many-layered crime novel. The judges admired the claustrophobia of the siege of Cadiz (for both sides) during the Peninsular War that forms the detailed background to the investigation and the author’s serious ethical intentions. To quote Orson Welles, Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?”

The longlist is





Dagger Non Fiction goes to The Siege by Adrian Levy & Cathy Scott-Clark
Viking.  This award is for any non-fiction work on a crime related theme by an author of any nationality as long as the book was first published in the UK in English during the Judging Period. This award encompasses, though is not limited to, non-fiction works relating to true crime, historical crime, crime-related biography and crime-fiction literature.

The shortlist is





Dagger in the Library is awarded not for an individual book but for the author’s body of work. The nominated authors must be alive, preferably working in Britain and cannot have won the award before. As the award is for a body of work, authors should have published at least three books. Entries from reading groups or individuals are submitted through libraries. The Winner goes to

Belinda Bauer – Transworld


Alison Bruce – Constable & Robinson

Gordon Ferris

Christopher Fowler – Bantam

Elly Griffiths – Quercus

Michael Ridpath – Corvus imprint of Atlantic Books

CWA Short Story Dagger – This award is for any crime short story first published in the UK in English in a publication that pays for contributions, or broadcast in the UK in return for payment, during the Judging Period.

This year’s winner goes to Fedora by John Harvey in Deadly Pleasures John Harvey Severn House for ‘An unusually convincing take on the private eye story, with everything from the title to the strongly noir ending in place. Extremely well written.’ by the judges.

The following are shortlisted for this category

Judge Surra by Andrea Camilleri in Judges (Andrea Camilleri Maclehose Press)

Night Nurse by Cath Staincliffe in Deadly Pleasures by Cath Staincliffe (Severn House)

Reconciliation by Jeffrey Deaver in Trouble in Mind Jeffrey Deaver (Hodder and Stoughton)

In our Darkened House by Inger Frimansson in A Darker Shade Inger Frimansson

( Head of Zeus)

Fedora by John Harvey in Deadly Pleasures by John Harvey (Severn House)

This year’s Debut Dagger goes to Jody Sabral for her The movement. The shortlist is

The Long Oblivion by Tim Baker

A Convenient Ignorance by Michael Baker

Under the Hanging Tree by Barb Ettridge

The Father by Tom Keenan

Motherland by Garry Abson

The Allegory of Art and Science by Graham Brack

Convict by Barb Ettridge

The Dog of Erbil by Peter Hayes

Burnt by Kristina Stanley

Seeds of a Demon by Anastasia Tyler

Colours by Tim Emery

The Movement by Jody Sabral

Endeavour Historical Dagger

This award is for the best historical crime novel, first published in the UK in English during the Judging Period, set in any period up to 35 years prior to the year in which the award will be made. For novels that involve passages set later than this time period, at least three-quarters of the book should be set in an earlier period.

The winner gones to Antonia Hodgson for The Devil in the Marshalsea.





Don’t forget to borrow any of those books from Parramatta City Library.