Ned Kelly Awards Shortlist 2009

The short list for the Ned  Kelly awards for crime writing have been announced. The winners will be seen on August 28 In Melbourne, when the satirical crime novelist Shane Maloney will receive a lifetime achievement award.

Best first fiction
Ghostlines, Nick Gadd
Crooked, Camilla Nelson
The Build Up, Phillip Gwynne

Best Fiction
Bright Air Barry Maitland
Deep Water Peter Corris
Smoke & Mirrors Kel Robertson

Best True crime
The Killing of Caroline Byrne, Robert Wainwrights
The Tall Man, Chloe Hooper
A Question of Power, Michelle Schwarz

The SD Harvey Short Story
Fidget’s Farewell, Scott McDermott
Farewell My Lovelies, Chris Womersley
Fern’s Farewell, Bronwyn Mehan
Farewell to the shade, Cheryl Rogers