Ned Kelly Shortlists 2016

The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the shortlists for this year’s Ned Kelly Awards for crime writing.

The shortlisted works in each category are:

Best novel

  • R&R(Mark Dapin, Viking)
  • The Heat(Garry Disher, Text)
  • Fall(Candice Fox, Bantam)
  • Rain Dogs(Adrian McKinty, A&U)
  • Ash Island(Barry Maitland, Text)
  • Before it Breaks(Dave Warner, Fremantle Press)

Best first novel

  • Please Don’t Leave Me Here(Tania Chandler, Scribe)
  • Good Money(J M Green, Scribe)
  • Amplify(Mark Hollands, self-published)
  • Skin Deep(Gary Kemble, Echo)
  • Four Days(Iain Ryan, Broken River Books)
  • Resurrection Bay(Emma Viskic, Echo)

Best true crime

  • Certain Admissions(Gideon Haigh, Viking)
  • The Sting(Kate Kyriacou, Echo)
  • A Murder Without Motive(Martin McKenzie-Murray, Scribe)
  • Killing Love(Rebecca Poulson, S&S)
  • Kidnapped(Mark Tedeschi, S&S)