Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2016

The winners of the 2016 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards were announced. They provide Australians a diverse range of reading genres.

life of

Fiction (joint winners)

life ofnatural way

The Life of Houses (Lisa Gorton, Giramondo)

The Natural Way of Things (Charlotte Wood, A&U)

Nonfiction (joint winners)

On Stalin’s Team: The years of Living Dangerously in Soviet Politics (Sheila Fitzpatrick, MUP)

Thea Astley: Inventing her Own Weather (Karen Lamb, UQP)


The Hazards (Sarah Holland-Batt, UQP)

Australian history (joint winners)

The Story of Australia’s People: The Rise and Fall of Ancient Australia (Geoffrey Blainey, Penguin)

Let My People Go: The Untold Story of Australia and the Soviet Jews 1959-89 (Sam Lipski & Suzanne D Rutland, Hybrid)

Young adult

A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)


Sister Heart (Sally Morgan, Fremantle Press)