Stella Prize 2018 Longlist released


In a year when women’s voices are demanding to be heard, the 2018 Stella Prize longlist showcases the power and diversity of writing by women in Australia. The determination required to create change, and the political necessity of telling our own stories, shines through in the fiction and nonfiction of this year’s list. Many authors on the longlist explore the importance of narrative for both our understanding of the past and our imaginings of the future. The prominence of books by smaller independent publishers speaks to the vibrancy of Australian publishing, and the longlist as a whole is a testament to the potency of women’s writing in Australia today. For more information about the Stella Prize click here.

Show your support for Australian women writers by reserving a title today.

The enlightenment of the greengage tree – Shokoofeh Azar
A writing life: Helen Garner and her life – Bernadette Brennan
Anaesthesia: The Gift of Oblivion and the Mystery of Consciousness – Kate Cole-Adams
Terra Nullius – Claire G. Coleman
The Life to Come – Michelle de Kretser
This Water: Five Tales – Beverley Farmer
The Green Bell: a memoir of love, madness & poetry – Paula Keogh
An Uncertain Grace – Krissy Kneen
The Choke – Sofie Laguna
Martin Sharp: His Life and Times – Joyce Morgan
The Fish Girl – Mirandi Riwoe
Tracker – Alexis Wright