The 2016 Edgar Allan Poe Awards

let me die let me dieMystery Writers of America has announced the winners of the 2016 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in 2015.

Best novel

Let Me Die in His Footsteps by Lori Roy (Penguin Random House – Dutton)

Best first novel by an American author

The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Grove Atlantic – Grove Press)

Best paperback original

The Long and Faraway Gone by Lou Berney (HarperCollins Publishers – William Morrow)

Best fact crime

Whipping Boy: The Forty-Year Search for My Twelve-Year-Old Bully

by Allen Kurzweil (HarperCollins Publishers – Harper)

Best critical/biographical

The Golden Age of Murder by Martin Edwards (HarperCollins Publishers – HarperCollins)

Best short story

“Obits” – Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King (Simon & Schuster – Scribner)

Best Juvenile

Footer Davis Probably is Crazy by Susan Vaught (Simon & Schuster – Paula Wiseman Books)

Best young adult

A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis (HarperCollins Publishers – Katherine Tegen Books)

Best television episode teleplay

“Gently with the Women” – George Gently, Teleplay by Peter Flannery (Acorn TV)

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award

“Chung Ling Soo’s Greatest Trick” – Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine by Russell W. Johnson (Dell Magazines)

Grand Master

Walter Mosley

Raven Awards

Margaret Kinsman

Sisters in Crime

Ellery Queen Award

Janet Rudolph, Founder of Mystery Readers International

The Simon & Schuster – Mary Higgins Clark Award

Little Pretty Things by Lori Rader-Day (Prometheus Books – Seventh Street Books)