The Commonwealth Book Prize 2013

Commonwealth Writers inspires writers, storytellers and a range of cultural practitioners to work for social change. It builds communities of less heard and emerging voices to influence, directly and indirectly, the decision making processes which affect their lives.

In line with this vision, the Commonwealth Book Prize and Short Story Prize unearth talented writers to take part in online residencies and on-the-ground activities. As well as inspiring others through their work.

The prizes unearth, develop and promote the best new writing from across the Commonwealth. The Commonwealth Book Prize is awarded for the best first novel, and the Commonwealth Short Story Prize for the best piece of unpublished short fiction.

The prizes have a global reach, attracting entries from across the Commonwealth and eminent members of the literary community to join our international judging panels. The entries are judged within the five regions of Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean and the Pacific.

The selection process culminates in the announcement of the regional winners on 14 May, and the two overall winners to a global audience at the Hay Festival UK in the summer.

 Australian Authors shortlisted for The Commonwealth Book Prize 2013 are:

Floundering by Romy Ash

Mazin Grace by Dylan Coleman

Tiger in Eden by Chris Flynn

The Last Thread by Michael Sala


   Beneath the Darkening Sky by Majok Tulba