KOALAs 2014 Winners

The winners of the 2014 Kids Own Australian Literature Awards (KOALAs) have been announced.

The KOALAs are NSW’s annual children’s choice awards. The winners of this year’s awards were selected from the Reading & Enjoying Australian Literature (REAL) Awards shortlist, which also acts as a shortlist for the children’s choice awards in the Australian Capital Territory (COOL Awards), Victoria (YABBAs) and the Northern Territory (KROC Awards).

Picture storybooks

The Dreadful Fluff by Aaron Blabey (Viking)

Honour books

Noah Dreary by Aaron Blabey (Viking)

A Bus Called Heaven by Bob Graham (Walker Books)

Fiction for younger readers

Billie B Brown: The Best Project by Sally Rippin (Hardie Grant Egmont)

Honour books

Alice-Miranda in Paris by Jacqueline Harvey (Random House)

The Third Door by Emily Rodda (Omnibus)

Fiction for older readers

The 39-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths, illus by Terry Denton (Pan Macmillan)

Honour books

Eric Vale, Epic Fail by Michael Gerard Bauer, illus by Joe Bauer (Scholastic)

WeirDo by Anh Do, illus by Jules Faber (Scholastic)

Fiction for years 7-9

Pennies for Hitler by Jackie French (HarperCollins)

Honour books

My Life as an Alphabet by Barry Jonsberg (A&U)

The Last Thirteen Book 1: 13 by James Phelan (Scholastic).

The KOALA Legend award for 2014 went to author Libby Gleeson.