Miles Franklin Award – Shortlist Annouced


Its a all female shortlist for the 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award.

Regarded as Australia’s oldest and most prestigious literary prize, the 2013 Miles Franklin Award shortlist, features five of Australia’s most talented female authors – including three first time novelists.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award was established with proceeds from the estate of My Brilliant Career author, Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin, to support and encourage authors of Australian literature.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 19 June 2013 in Canberra at the National Library of Australia, and will receive $60,000 for the novel judged to be of the highest literary merit which “must present Australian life in any of its phases” in line with Miles Franklin’s wishes.

On the shortlist are

  • Romy Ash – Floundering
  • Annah Faulkner – The Beloved
  • Michelle de Kretser – Questions of Travel
  • Drusilla Modjeska – The Mountain
  • Carrie Tiffany – The Mateship with Birds