Ned Kelly Awards 2009

The Crime Writers Association of Australia was set up in the mid 1990s to promote and encourage Australian crime writing through the establishment of the Ned Kelly Awards. The ‘annual Neddies’ have subsequently become an eagerly anticipated fixture on the Australian literary scene.

This year, Ned Kelly Awards go to

Best first fiction
Ghostlines by Nick Gadd

Best Fiction – joint winners
Deep Water by Peter Corris

Smoke & Mirrors by Kel Robertson

True crime
The Tall Man by Chloe Hooper

SD Harvey Short Story
Fidget’s Farewell by Scott McDermott

Lifetime Achievement
Shane Maloney