Prime Minister’s Literacy Awards 2012 winner announced

Prime Minister Julia Gillard and Arts Minister Simon Crean today announced the winners of the 2012 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards-

Australian writers who write books about Australia.

Fiction winnerFoal’s Bread by Gillian Mears

Poetry winnerInterferon Psalms by Luke Davies

Non-fiction winnerAn Eye for Eternity: The Life of ManningClark by Mark McKenna

 Prize forAustralian HistoryThe Biggest Estate on Earth: How Aboriginies Made Australia by Bill Gammage

 Young Adult fiction winnerWhen We Were Two by Robert Newton

Children’s fiction winnerGoodnight, Mice!, written by Frances Watts and illustrated by Judy Watson