Commonwealth Prizes Shortlists 2012

Commonwealth Writers has announced shortlists for the 2012 Commonwealth Book Prize and Commonwealth Short Story Prize. Writers from around the world have been shortlisted for each prize in anticipation of becoming a regional winner on 22 May and ultimately competing for overall winner which will be announced at Hay Festival on 8 June. Continue reading

The slap – discussion notes

The 1st Wed Reading Group discussed ‘The slap by Australian writer Christos Tsiolkas. The book won 2009 Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book, shortlisted for 2009 Miles Franklin Literary Awards and longlisted for Man Booker 2010. It was a good discussion about it. Val sent me the group notes to share with others. Continue reading